Accessibility Links

An Enduring Passion

14m Art, Documentary, Painting 2013

TarraWarra Museum of Art captures the vision of its founders, philanthropists Eva Besen AO and Marc Besen AC, passionate collectors of Australian art from the 1950s to the present day. Not only did they gift the building that houses the Museum, but also a significant proportion of their collection of modern and contemporary Australian art for the enjoyment of all visitors from Australia and abroad.

Since opening its doors to the public on 18 December 2003, TarraWarra Museum of Art has been one of the cultural jewels in the Yarra Valley, providing visitors with a relaxing and enjoyable experience comprising of both stunning architecture and a diverse program of exhibitions and events.

In 2004, Allan Powell was awarded the winner of the inaugural Victorian Premier’s Design Award for his elegant design.

In 2009, in the wake of the devasting bush fires in the region, the Australian Chamber Orchestra (ACO) was invited to play a benefit concert. Since then the TarraWarra Festival, featuring the ACO, has played at the Museum every year.

By 2020, the Museum has had three Directors, and has produced over 110 exhibitions of modern and contemporary art, exhibiting the work of hundreds of artists.


Catherine Hunter


Catherine Hunter

Director of Photography

Bruce Inglis


Bruce Inglis






Catherine Hunter, TarraWarra

You may also like

Arthur Boyd - Figures In The Landscape
51m Art, Painter, Biography, Documentary 1985
Brett Whiteley - Difficult Pleasure
55m Arts, Painting, Biography, Documentary 1989
George Gittoes - I Witness
55m Art, Painting, Biography, Documentary 1999
Dean Bowen - Argy Bargy
0m Art, Painting, Sculpture, Biography 2021

Download the app to view your purchased content!